NAF Washington DC Internship Program

DC Interns

June, 2016 Washington DC Intern Luncheon.

The Fund for American Studies (TFAS) was established in 1967 in response to the political and social upheaval of the 1960s. Surveying this political and social landscape, Charles Edison, former governor of New Jersey, secretary of the Navy and son of the inventor Thomas Alva Edison, recognized that college students needed a balanced perspective on political and economic institutions. And in 1967, he took the first steps toward establishing the institution that is today known as The Fund for American Studies.

TFAS sponsors five summer Institutes for undergraduate students in Washington, D.C., as follow:

  1. Engalitcheff Institute on Comparative Political and Economic Systems (ICPES)
  2. Institute on Political Journalism (IPJ)
  3. Institute on Business and Government Affairs (IBGA)
  4. Institute on Philanthropy and Voluntary Service (IPVS)
  5. Institute on Economics and International Affairs (IEIA)

These Institutes prepare young people for leadership in the life of their communities and the nation by providing them with opportunities in the nation’s capital for enlightenment and enrichment.

The Fund for American Studies summer institutes attract students from colleges all over the U.S., including the Ivy League schools and military academies. In addition, international students from many different countries are accepted to attend one of the five institutes offered at George Mason University.

The Institutes are intense, combining lectures, coursework, internships, evening lectures and site briefings at key institutions of national government. Each Institute offers courses for academic credit. Through the internships, students gain practical experience that prepares them for their careers. Students live in the George Mason University dorms, which promotes interaction between the US and foreign students.

2017 Awardees

Daan de Leeuw
University of Utrecht – Economics of Public Policy and Management

Jetske Maria Klein
Leiden University – International Relations and Diplomacy

Barbara Roggeveen
University of Amsterdam – LLB International Law
Vrije University Amsterdam – Russian Language and Literature

Rosa Rupert
Leiden University –  Political Science

2016 Awardees

Lieselotte Gerritsen
Leiden University – Philosophy of Law

Eline Kimmel
Erasmus University Rotterdam – Communication & Media

Jim Vervuurt
Tilburg University – Finance

Christian van der Woude
Leiden University – World Politics & Entrepreneurship

For more information on this program, please send an email to

Comments are closed.